National Storage Affiliates Trust

Board of Trustees

Leader Photo

Lisa Cohn


Lisa is the President and General Counsel of Apartment Income REIT Corp. or AIR (NYSE: AIRC) which was created from the separation transaction of Aimco (NYSE: AIV). She has specific responsibility for governance, information technology and process innovation, human resources, and legal.  Lisa also serves on the NAREIT Advisory Board of Governors. Prior to her role with AIR, Lisa served as Executive Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary of Aimco, which she joined in 2002. During her tenure, Lisa has had increasing levels of responsibilities across the company, serving as a cross-functional leader of the organization. In addition to serving as General Counsel, Lisa has had responsibility for construction services, asset quality and service, insurance, risk management, human resources, property dispositions nationwide, and Aimco’s acquisition activities in the western region. She has also previously served as chairman of Aimco’s investment committee.  

Prior to joining Aimco, Lisa was engaged in the private practice of law at Hogan & Hartson LLP (now Hogan Lovells), with an emphasis on public and private transactional work, public equity offerings and venture capital financing.  She also spent two years as a Federal judicial clerk.

Lisa earned her undergraduate degree (with honors and distinction) in public policy from Stanford University and earned her law degree (cum laude) from Harvard Law School and served on the Harvard Law Review, including as managing editor.

Lisa is active in her community. Since 2022, she has served on the Board of Directors of BBYO. Since 2018, she has served on the Board of Trustees of the Craig Hospital Foundation and serves as the chair of the Foundation’s Finance and Investment Committee. From 2010-2020 she served as a trustee of the Rose Community Foundation. From 2012-2015, Lisa served as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees for Denver Jewish Day School and served on the Board of Trustees from 2008 to 2016.